Frequently Asked Questions
01 Do you allow men in your classes?
Men are welcome in all our classes. We have learned that the students who attend our classes have a genuine desire to learn and not disturb the learning experience of others.
02 I took the concealed weapons class last month, what is the next class I should take?
There are two classes that you can take depending on your personal comfort level. "Form and Accuracy" focuses on what you learned in the Basic Class, reinforcing stance, grip, trigger control and accuracy. If you feel pretty confident and want to jump forward the other class is Skill Builder 1. You'll benefit from both in different ways and can always take the other next. One more option, since you completed Basic Class, you are also eligible to join our Monthly Shooting Group, details available in the store. I hope this answers your question.
03 I want to apply for my FL Concealed Carry License, where do bring the certificate you gave me after completing the Basic Class?
Contact the tax collector in either Brevard or Indian River Counties or any other county in the state of Florida. Use their appointment program to save yourself a lot of waiting. Be sure the office has the equipment to process your Concealed Carry Application. In our area only the tax collectors in Sebastion, Viera, and Merritt Island have the capability to process our permits. Bring the certificate of training from our class along with your ID and $119 and a smile. They will take your photograph, fingerprints and you will complete your application. That's it, ONE STOP! By the time you leave the parking lot they have sent your application for review and you could receive your license to carry a concealed firearm in the mail anywhere from 2-12 weeks.
04 I'm planning a road-trip out of state, which states accept my FL Concealed Carry License?
Florida is a shall-issue state with concealed weapons permits issued at the state level by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). ... In terms of reciprocity, Florida will only honor resident CCW licenses from states with which Florida has a reciprocity agreement. Laws change frequently, always double check this site before your trip.
05 I already have my Concealed Carry License but I want to learn more about handling and shooting my gun. Do I have to take the Basic Firearm Use and Safety Class?
We have a class that focuses on "Form and Accuracy". This class is ideal for people who need their shooting accuracy analyzed and corrective techniques implemented to have more accurate shot placement. If you possess a CCW but want more instruction on shooting firearm accurately you can take this class. IF you received your permit training through an "expedited" class and still feel that there are gaps in your knowledge that are keeping you from carrying or shooting your gun I suggest you take our "Basic Firearm Use and Safety Class" to fill in the gaps and to build confidence.
06 Will I actually shoot a gun in your Basic Firearm Use and Safety Class?
YES! All our firearm classes involve loading, shooting and reloading firearms with real ammunition at an outdoor range. Unlike other less expensive classes that use pre-loaded wax bullets or laser guns - we believe the first time you shoot a gun shouldn't be in self-defense.
07 Where can I find information about proposed Gun Legislation in Florida?
Use this website to get information about proposed legislation that directly affects your ability to own and use a gun in the state of FLORIDA.